Honoring –  Girls and Boy representing our post at the California Girls and Boys State in June 2018


On October 13, the American Legion Petaluma Post 28 honored the Girls and Boys State representatives in June 2018. Dinner and awards were provided by the post.  We even had the pleasure of the American Legion Rohnert Park post Girls and Boys State representatives.

The MC’s of the event was Steven Kemmerle, Post Girls and Boys State chair and Jack Schipper, District five Girls and Boys State chair. The District five commander,  Wayne A. Holland and his wife were in attendance.  Also representing Sonoma County David Rabbitt, Sonoma County supervisor.

Jack and Wayne Girls and Boys state

Jack Schipper and Wayne A. Holland

Steven Kemmerle and David Rabbitt at Boys and Girls State Dinner

Steven Kemmerle and David Rabbitt

The speaker for Boys State Dinner – Dan Zimmerman, who was a respresentative for  964 Boys State Missouri  and he was elected Chief Justice State Supreme Court.

David Rabbitt presented a certificate of appreciation for each of the youth participation in eith Girls State and Boys State.  The American Legion Petaluma presents the youth with certificates and  medallions for completing Girls and Boys State.

Anna Demma, Girls State Representative

From left to right – Boys and Girl State Representatives:

Tony Vitali – Petaluma High School

Theo Pologeorgis – Petaluma High School

Anna Demma – Petaluma High School

Sean Devincenzi –  Petaluma High School (Representing Post 0111 Healdsburg)

Lance Sunshine – Casa Grande High School

Jerry Porter was honored for his almost 8 years of service as Post Adjutant.  Thanks Jerry for your hard work.  Being the new Adjutant (Bob Hockenberger), I now realize the work involved in the postion.

In closing, I don’t want to forget the Chef – Richard Reynolds.  He cooked a wonderful dinner for all and there was plenty. Hard to get him to stand still long enough for a picture.  He did donate his time, so double thanks.

Then behind every chef is the kitchen crew:Joe Mauro, Mike Mcsween, James Inden, Richard Bergeron.  Thanks  for your service.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share This